Hi! I'm Giovanni 👋

Giovanni Ravalico

I am a self-taught software developer, a geek, and more generally a problem solver. I am also a young father of three and a committed husband.

I was born in ☢️🌧 1986 (you to do the math) and grew up in a small city by the 🌊 sea in the north-east of 🇮🇹 Italy.

At the university, I 📚 studied Modern History, but I never actually graduated. There I met the ❤️ love of my life, 👱🏻‍♀️ Morena, with whom I have been together ever since.

Soon after college, we got 💍 married and started our own 👩‍❤️‍👨family. In 2014 our hearts became soo much bigger when 👶🏻 Enea come about. Four years later, 👶🏻 Elai managed to have the same effect on us.

Kids are the most amazing thing that had happened to me. They changed my life. They brought so much clarity!

Thanks to this new perspective, in 2014, I decided to switch career and transition toward 💻 software engineering. That was the beginning of my unconventional journey toward becoming a software developer. For any further information, please refer to my 📑 résumé.

I am an incredibly 👀 curious person by nature and a life long learner. Reading, thinking, and testing what I have learned is one of my life's joy. Programming has managed to scratch this itch for me ever since I picked it up.

TypeScript is my language of choice. It has shaped the way I think soo much soo that now I'm seeing types, signatures, and contracts flowing around even in dynamically typed languages.

I'm language-curious; my gaze is set on the functional side of the language spectrum with the end goal of, one day, picking up Haskell.

I try not to concern myself too much with this library or that framework since, as time has proven many times over, they tend to come and go as the hype wagon moves on to the next thing.

Instead, I prefer to have a better understanding of the underlying building blocks, which tend to be more stable: the language, the data structures, and the design patterns that enable the creation of higher levels of abstractions.

Making stuff is really fulfilling for me. I just happened to choose to use code to do so, but I could definitely see myself as a 🪓 carpenter, working with wood, or as a 🧑🏻‍🍳 chef preparing some elaborate recipe or...

I lived in 🇮🇹 Italy, 🇭🇷 Croatia, and 🇩🇪 Germany. Currently, I'm located in Berlin, Germany.

You can find me on 🐦 Twitter, 🐙 GitHub, and 🦵 LinkedIn.